At my heart

I am afraid

That He would look at my heart 

And see that great big lie

That He would see just how afraid I am

How the world He made is big to me

How their approval means something to me

How I hope to please Him

And yet this world is so fresh

I do seek His love

To be closer to Him

But my heart is so full yet empty

Dear Lord help me I am sinking

Drinking filling my soul on their praise

Running on empty faith

Dear Lord meet me at my heart.

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.   (Psalm 51:17, ESV)

Leave a Reply

